Breadcrumbs
  • Home
  • »  Meet the team

Meet the team


FIUteach is a community build on the foundation of hard work, dedication and a passion for STEM. Meet our team below and get to know more about them!

Master Teachers

 Maria J. Campitelli

   Office: VH 175

    305-348-1258

  mcampite@fiu.edu

Nicole Cook

Office: VH 178

305-348-1804

nicook@fiu.edu 

Ingelise Giles

Office: VH 167

305-348-7650

gilesi@fiu.edu

Leslie Nisbet

   Office: VH 169

   305-348-7799

   lnisbet@fiu.edu

  Nicholas Oehm

   Office: VH 168

   305-348-6839

   oehmn@fiu.edu

 

 

Associate Director

 

Vishodana Thamotharan 

 

Office: VH 170

 

305-348 7684 

 

vthamoth@fiu.edu

 

 

FIUteach Co-Directors

FIUteach co-directors collaborate to ensure effective program operations and a high quality teacher preparation experience for students. They proactively advocate for programmatic needs and ensure that university leadership is kept informed of program progress and growth.

Maria photo

Maria L. Fernandez, Ph.D.

Chairperson, Department of Teaching and Learning, College of Education

College of Education Research Coordinator, STEM Transformation Institute

305-348-0193

mfernan@fiu.edu

Laird photo

Laird Kramer, Ph.D.

Director, STEM Transformation Institute

Professor, Department of Physics, College of Arts & Sciences

305-348-6073

Laird.Kramer@fiu.edu

 

FIUteach Staff

STEM major and FIUteach program advisors actively support careers in teaching and are well informed about the wide variety of degree plans leading to certification, ensuring that FIUteach pre-service teachers successfully meet all requirements for graduation.

 

Robert L. Brown

Coordinator of Administrative Services, STEM Transformation Institute

Office: VH 183
305-348-7683
rlbrown@fiu.edu

 Sonssire Tapanes

Academic Advisor 

Office: VH 184

305-348-2768
sonssire.tapanes1@fiu.edu

 

Christina Moussa

Academic Advisor
305-348-2864
   christina.moussa1@fiu.edu